Friday, May 6, 2016

So...As We Sit Here Shivering...

It is wet and cold and rainy here. We have not seen the sun in over two weeks. I don't have any flowers planted. The east Coast is very dreary! We are still wearing long sleeves!

We are still eating soup! We are still sipping hot teas.


But there is good news! I finally finished this! I am not sure I liked all of these different scenarios...especially near the end. It was such a good book but it wore me out! Too many scenarios...too many choices...too any people!

Reading this...again...that private girls school thing that can be so good...not sure about this one, though...time will starts out with a ton of secrets, lots of haves and one little have not.

So...the week end is a relaxed one for us. Just staying in trying to stay warm. Normal May activities are trips to Farmers Markets, no trips to gardening centers...just hanging out watching the rain fall...reading and playing this new game I am hooked on. You can't imagine how much fun this game is. I never spend money on games and I just bought $20.00 worth diamonds so I could upgrade my Breakfast Cafe! I hate myself. Seriously...

I am out of here until Monday!




Thursday, May 5, 2016

Books...Sandwiches...Beachy Thoughts!

Still reading is really good but I don't think it will ever end! And the twists just keep on coming.

I needed a break from Eva and David and Jim yesterday so I read this sweet, so sad but such a beautiful book for middle graders! I thought I would cry when Flip the dog came along...practically in the first pages but it was lovely...I highly recommend it!


This one is from The Kitchn...sort of a roasted tomato tartine!

Avocado toasts from Serious Eats!

And...for Cinco de Mayo...a Nacho Pie from The Kitchn!

The Beach!

If we do this beach thing...the next decision home or cottage.

These are the Townhomes but we would only build an end unit. It has three bedrooms, a loft, 2.5 bathrooms...and is the perfect size for the four of us. We would have absolutely no maintenance at all...not a thing!

The cottages are just a bit bigger but there is more to take care of. We keep coming back to the townhouses. The lot Den loves has a straight shot to the water...we can walk or bike there easily!

I know I am boring everyone with this but for the first time ever in this process we feel sort of good! My stomach doesn't hurt and the thought of spending half of our time at the beach...OMG! Plus I will have time to go through this house for an eventual sell...when we are totally ready. We have so much and stored...that we playfully are already stacking stuff for the beach house!

These were my first set of casual dishes...they have been boxed for years...Wedgewood...I loved them and never had the heart to give them away. But they are the perfect beach dishes! I think I have serving pieces and settings for 10 or 12! And I have a set of silverware put first set!

But we could be only dreaming...nothing is definite yet! So...thank you for bearing with me!




Wednesday, May 4, 2016


This book! It is sooooo good but it is making me crazy! The premise is that as readers...we get to see three...I think three but now I am not certain...different scenarios unfold for the same three people...perhaps that's where the three came from? Eva and David...Eva and Jim...then Eva and David and their daughter Sarah and then Eva And David and their daughter that four? The book is awesome but I am starting to not enjoy this many different outcomes...of course I could be overly sensitive to this book because I can't even decide if I want my beach house or not!


I am still crazy over bowl foods! Just take a look at these! Plus now I feel the need to acquire some new bowls! I have tons of white ones but I want some earthy clay ones...

From Nutrition Stripped...

From The Kitchn...
From Andie Mitchell...


Still talking, chatting, dreaming, thinking about keeping this house...which we love...and having a small beach place barely two hours away!

These two have not cast their vote yet. I think Roxie is trying to sway Lucy into a yes long as the litter box is in the right spot!
Off to prep a bowl food lunch!


Tuesday, May 3, 2016

What I Learned Just Yesterday...

Our conversations about where we want to live and what we want to do continue. We debate, we fact hunt, we fact check, we research.

We will return to the beach next week. The only reason we are not going this week is because of the constant pounding rain!

So...what I learned is...actually what I relearned is...I am a horrible decision maker...even with all of the facts in front of me!

I also learned that after such a hopeful start...SMOKE by Dan really dreary for me. It began with a bang and ended with a thud!

I also relearned that I really love historical fiction. This one is about Samuel Beckett. It encompasses the invasion of Paris during WWII. Samuel Beckett was there with James Joyce. It highlights Samuel Beckett's life there and his work with the Underground. It's been ridiculously good.

I relearned that Lucy loves watermelon. Den was eating a bowl of precision sliced squares of the most amazing "first" Florida watermelon and Lucy made him share. Roxie could care less...she likes her protein. She is walking away in disgust!

Yesterday I was surprised by this book from Random House and NetGalley...

From Amazon...

"A captivating debut novel for readers of Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told You and Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep—The Most Dangerous Place on Earth unleashes an unforgettable cast of characters into a realm known for its cruelty and peril: the American high school."

OMG...I seriously can not wait to read this!

Today I am reading this...


And this...

Cleaning today since I did nothing constructive yesterday except read!




Monday, May 2, 2016

Oh My Those Beauty Filled Books!

What better thing to do on a rainy Monday ( when I am on my own ) than look at all of my yummy luscious amazing new books! And try to figure out how and when I am going to read them all!

Here they are!


The Sudden Appearence Of Hope

Tell Us Something True

Julia Vanishes


The Memory Book

Tuesday Night's In 1980


Alice And Oliver

Just a big old assortment of YA and Grown Up books!

I read the most fascinating book over this rainy weekend.

It was about George Eliot and was really interesting!

What an odd woman she was!

And now I am wrapped up in another odd yet strangely fascinating book.

It opens at a boys school for elite and wealthy young men. Smoke sort of slithers out of them if they are less than good and they are punished for this...sounds weird but it's kind of good!

Off to read for a bit but I have a really good Columbo on in the background.

Have a great day!



I am linked up to Book Date!